3/7/22 – Find the Light

In the days to follow I will be focusing on the light in my life. I do this to remind myself the current thunderstorm will end. One day, the light will come back again. Until then….

1.) What surprised me today?

Today I was happily surprised by two things. 1.) An email for another request to meet with me. It is so incredibly joyful to feel wanted! That being said number 2.) was a message from an old high school friend who wanted to “check in on me.” Well be still my heart. I am going to enjoy this wherever it goes.

2.) What touched my heart today?

Today one of my students told me that he loved me being his teacher. I do everything I can not to cry in front of my kiddos knowing my days with them are numbered. Today his comments reminded me though that teaching is so much more than me. Teachers are the light in children’s eyes and that is something I don’t think I’ll ever truly understand. It’s humbling to know that these students see you. (Even the ones that are waving at you as you walk down the hallway whom you haven’t spoken to at all.) Yes that also touched my heart today. The children make this job worth every tear I’ve cried in the last two years when I felt I wasn’t good enough. A coworker also touched my heart today. I mentioned the current status of my life and she told me she would miss me. Hu? I couldn’t believe she said that, but she did and at that touched my heart as I realized that there are quite a few people whom I have enjoyed working with tremendously these last two years.

3.) What inspired me today?

Today I’m inspired by the fact that I raised my voice. I did not sit back today and shyly not state my opinion or speak up for what I believe in. Every step of this day I voiced my opinions, I spoke up to others when I had an idea, I did not back down from conflict. Today I found the confidence to believe in myself and what I bring to the table. A dear friend might have had something to do with that, whom has become the mentor I never had and always wanted.

Remembering to see the light and find the good in each day gives me hope that maybe I’ve finally found the umbrella I need to protect myself from the rain. Maybe the sun really is starting to shine over the horizon.

2 thoughts on “3/7/22 – Find the Light

  1. You inspired me today. Right here: “I did not sit back today and shyly not state my opinion or speak up for what I believe in. Every step of this day I voiced my opinions, I spoke up to others when I had an idea, I did not back down from conflict. Today I found the confidence to believe in myself and what I bring to the table.” Hoorah to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment